Cape(‘s in)Town

I love the cape, though I am not sure what about it fascinates me most. It’s not a coat, nor is it a jacket. It’s a top, yet it has no sleeves…I guess It’s like a skirt for the neck. All I know is that when I close my eyes, take a deep breath and think of a cape, all is well in my world. There are no rules for capes; they are in their own little planet. They can be made out of drill or silk, they can be long or short, casual or fancy. They can be worn as a cover-up, or the key piece in your outfit. Either way, capes posses an element of ‘surprise’. And we all know, that ‘suprise’ wins.

"Mystery is at the heart of creativity. That, and surprise."  -Julia Cameron

Illustrated by the one and only, Garance Dore.

Check out some of the latest looks straight off the runway:

 love the sandals, love the plastic fabric.

Overwhelming, I know.

For those of you who are ready to take the next step, here are some affordable capes I found on http://www.Etsy.com:

FancyShmancy

Chiller

Romantichik

And if you’re really ambitious, try and make your own personalized cape.

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

